Back in 1998, the United States congress amended the Rehabilitation Act from 1973 to require Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology (EIT) accessible to people with disabilities. This law requires all Federal agencies to comply with regulations when they develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology. Required updates have been made by Section 508 Refresh and went into effect on January 18th, 2018.

This law requries not only Federal agencies, but also companies developing software for Federal agencies to comply with these regulations.

Different Types of Disabilities

Many types of disabilities must be taken into consideration when developing software, interfaces or websites.

  • Visual and audio disabilities

    • Low vision
    • Color blindness
  • Physical impairments
  • Nerve damage
  • Neural disabilities
  • Speech impediments

Section 508

For our web components part of TX Text Control .NET Server for ASP.NET, we provide the Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT) for download.

A Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT?) is a document that explains how information and communication technology (ICT) products such as software, hardware, electronic content, and support documentation meet (conform to) the Revised 508 Standards for IT accessibility. VPATs? help Federal agency contracting officials and government buyers to assess ICT for accessibility when doing market research and evaluating proposals.

Voluntary Product Accessibility Template (VPAT),

You can download our VPAT for TX Text Control .NET Server for ASP.NET here:

TX Text Control .NET Server for ASP.NET VPAT

Please let us know, if you have any questions about the VPAT, the accessibility features or any other government regulations related topic. Our team is always trying to help you based on our wide experience with government contracts.